Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#4065247 - 09/10/09 04:00 PM One year ago today...
ALTIMA420 Offline
Post Master

Loc: AZ CITY, AZ
I was almost killed in a motorcycle accident when a lady made a left in front of me on my way from work. I spent a very long time in the hospital getting a grip of surgeries. I was stuck in a wheelchair until mid June when I started learning how to walk again. Now, a year later all my injuries have healed with the exception of my right tib/fib. However, I'm able to walk fairly well. I'm missing 5" of bone right under my knee and am lucky to have a leg still. I still may lose it, but keeping it is looking good at this point. I broke about 20 bones, including clavicle, femur, a bunch of ribs, and my left hand/wrist. I also had a bruised heart, ruptured kidney, and torn lungs. I was fully geared with the exception of full length boots. My legs look pretty butchered. They took a huge chunk out of my left thigh to cover the gaping hole my tibia came out. Picture Stewie from the family guy's head on my shin. \:D I have a titanium cage in the bone deficit now, and hopefully bone will grow around and through the cage.

I cannot stress enough to treat each day as your last, and to give blood! I received 9 pints and am forever indebted to donors. Also, I will NEVER eat Tom's BBQ again haha. When I was in ICU, still intubated, I ralphed up my lunch twice and thought I was going to drown in my own vomit. I will never be able to bbq without thinking about that. \:D

Here's my leg 8 days after the accident and 1 day after the surgery that put my thigh piece on my shin. \:D (it looks gnarly now, but A LOT better than this pic)

'03 600 GSXR (totaled along with me)

Visit Sponsors! Help CSi !
#4070725 - 09/12/09 03:57 PM Re: One year ago today... [Re: ALTIMA420]
AzRider Offline
Post Master Sr

Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA
god damn. you got fucked up!

glad you are still with us csi'ers and hope it all works well in the end.